Hair / health / critical readingA thread between questions and evidence
Calvizie / CapelliThe thread of evidence
The journal / guide

How to read evidence about hair treatments

A useful publication does not necessarily demonstrate a universal cure. Ask what was compared, in whom, for how long and with which limitations.

Updated 15 October 2026Editorial source check · no individual clinical review claimed
FIELD NOTES / 02

One study.
Four questions.

  1. Who?

    Do the participants represent the people the claim addresses?

  2. Compared with what?

    Look for a comparison: a change alone does not establish an advantage.

  3. For how long?

    Study duration limits what it can say about benefits and risks.

  4. Which outcome?

    Density, photographs and satisfaction answer different questions.

A reading framework, without effectiveness scores. The guide, studies and limitations ↗

Four questions before the conclusion

  • In whom? Selected participants do not automatically represent every reader.
  • Compared with what? Improvement alone does not describe the advantage over another option.
  • For how long? A short comparison cannot answer every question about lasting benefit or risk.
  • Which outcome? Photographic assessments, density and satisfaction are different measures.

No significant difference does not mean equivalence

The authors of the September 2026 minoxidil trial state that it was not designed to establish equivalence or non-inferiority. Turning it into the commercial claim “they work exactly the same way” is unjustified.

Even a randomised trial answers a limited question. The 2024 comparison in men did not demonstrate superiority of oral treatment at 24 weeks. This does not justify universal conclusions about every formulation or person.

Evidence is different from approval

A published study does not by itself change a medicine’s approved indication. In Italy, check the specific product and AIFA documents. An American or British page can offer clinical information without describing Italian rules; the same distinction applies to readers in other countries.

Charts and references do not turn a cosmetic or supplement into a medicine. Ministerial notification of an Italian supplement does not prove therapeutic effectiveness. Ask which exact claim a cited source supports.

Make uncertainty visible

A reliable page should show the source, date and limitations alongside any possible benefit. Testimonials and promotional images do not answer the same questions as a controlled comparison. None of the studies cited here is a personal prescription.

Web editorial team · 2026 edition

Original text prepared with automated writing assistance and reference checks. No individual clinical reviewer is attributed to this guide.

Methods, limitations and corrections ↗

Sources and limitations

  1. Low-dose oral versus topical minoxidil: randomised double-blind, double-dummy trialJournal of Cosmetic Dermatology · Document: 2026-09-21 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026doi:10.1111/jocd.71198. 100 participants randomised, 90 completed; 24 weeks. Not designed to establish equivalence or non-inferiority; registry NCT07273799. The earlier research read indexed original text; direct PMC access showed a challenge and the DOI did not resolve in the research browser.
  2. Oral versus topical minoxidil for male androgenetic alopecia: randomised trialPenha MA et al.; JAMA Dermatology · Document: 2024-04-10 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026doi:10.1001/jamadermatol.2024.0284. Single centre; 90 men randomised, 68 completed; 24 weeks. Does not establish long-term safety or universal superiority.
  3. Summary of product characteristics and patient information leafletAIFA · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026A methodological page; it does not verify the current SmPC of every medicine.
  4. AIFA medicines databaseAIFA · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Check the product name, authorisation number (AIC), formulation and specific document. No individual minoxidil dossier was retrieved in this research.
  5. Phytovigilance: general informationIstituto Superiore di Sanità, EpiCentro · Document: 2022-10-27 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Text explicitly updated in 2022; later news does not change its revision date. A supplement-information source, not an alopecia guideline.