Calvizie / Capelli
The source register
Official documents and dermatology organisations used in the guides. Check dates, provenance and limitations before applying information.
Checks are editorial and do not amount to individual clinical review. Overseas product information does not establish approval, availability or reimbursement in Italy or your country. The current official information for the specific medicine remains essential. Source documents may be in their original language; English descriptions and limitations follow.
- Finasteride and dutasteride: new measures to minimise suicidal-ideation riskAIFA · Document: 2025-09-16 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Safety communication; it does not replace the product-specific SmPC.
- Finasteride- and dutasteride-containing medicines: referralEMA · Document: 2025-08-22 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026European Commission final decision on 22 August 2025; documents also published on 19 September. The earlier research used indexed official text after direct access returned 429.
- Summary of product characteristics and patient information leafletAIFA · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026A methodological page; it does not verify the current SmPC of every medicine.
- AIFA medicines databaseAIFA · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Check the product name, authorisation number (AIC), formulation and specific document. No individual minoxidil dossier was retrieved in this research.
- Male pattern hair loss (androgenetic alopecia)British Association of Dermatologists / British Hair and Nail Society · Document: 2024-06 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Next review scheduled for June 2027. UK licensing and NHS information do not automatically apply to Italy; read finasteride safety alongside AIFA’s 2025 notice.
- Telogen effluviumBritish Association of Dermatologists · Document: 2025-10 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Next review scheduled for October 2028. Describes general timing, not an individual prognosis.
- Alopecia areataBritish Association of Dermatologists · Document: 2024-04 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Used for the definition and variable course. UK medicine lists, ages and reimbursement are not treated as current Italian information.
- Spironolactone: patient information leafletBritish Association of Dermatologists · Document: 2022-11 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Conflicting metadata: the link says August 2025, but the PDF states updated November 2022 and next review November 2025. No 2025 clinical revision is claimed. UK licensing and contraception rules are not automatically applied to Italy.
- Hair loss: diagnosis and treatmentAmerican Academy of Dermatology · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Used for the general clinical pathway. FDA approvals and US insurance information do not describe Italy.
- Hair loss: who gets it and causesAmerican Academy of Dermatology · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Photographs are not for self-diagnosis. No editorial date is displayed; a 2026 copyright is not evidence of a 2026 medical update.
- Hair loss: tips for managingAmerican Academy of Dermatology · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026General advice, rather than verification of commercial products sold in Italy.
- Hair transplantation: patient informationAmerican Academy of Dermatology · Document: date not stated · Editorial check: 15 October 2026The source’s promotional title is not adopted as a promise. No Italian prices were verified.
- Restrictions on cyproterone use because of meningioma riskEMA · Document: 2020-03-27 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026EMA/147755/2020. Distinguish doses and formulations; this is not an identical warning for every antiandrogen. Original indexed text was used after intermittent direct access.
- Topical minoxidil: scientific conclusions and product-information changesEMA/CMDh · Document: 2024 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026PSUSA/00002067/202310. Indexed Italian text was checked; PDF access was intermittent. Exact day and month were not verified.
- PRAC meeting minutes, 10–13 June 2024EMA/PRAC · Document: 2024-06 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Confirms the warning about accidental topical exposure in children; this is not dosing guidance.
- Oral versus topical minoxidil for male androgenetic alopecia: randomised trialPenha MA et al.; JAMA Dermatology · Document: 2024-04-10 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026doi:10.1001/jamadermatol.2024.0284. Single centre; 90 men randomised, 68 completed; 24 weeks. Does not establish long-term safety or universal superiority.
- Low-dose oral versus topical minoxidil: randomised double-blind, double-dummy trialJournal of Cosmetic Dermatology · Document: 2026-09-21 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026doi:10.1111/jocd.71198. 100 participants randomised, 90 completed; 24 weeks. Not designed to establish equivalence or non-inferiority; registry NCT07273799. The earlier research read indexed original text; direct PMC access showed a challenge and the DOI did not resolve in the research browser.
- Phytovigilance: general informationIstituto Superiore di Sanità, EpiCentro · Document: 2022-10-27 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Text explicitly updated in 2022; later news does not change its revision date. A supplement-information source, not an alopecia guideline.
- Therapeutic innovation in trichology: JAK inhibitors and alopecia areataSIDeMaST · Document: 2024-07-22 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026An informational article, rather than a comprehensive guideline or current reimbursement list. SIDeMaST has not reviewed this website.
- Finasteride 1 mg film-coated tablets: SmPCStrandhaven Limited / electronic Medicines Compendium · Document: 2026-06-16 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Text revised 16 June 2026; emc page updated 11 September 2026. Primary marketing-authorisation-holder information, not an Italian SmPC; used for pregnancy risk, not Italian licensing or reimbursement.
- ALOXIDIL 20 mg/ml skin solution: leaflet copyIDI Farmaceutici; copia PDF su CDN · Document: 2024-12 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026The document names IDI, but was not downloaded from AIFA’s database or a direct holder link. It is not verification of the latest national version; a current product-specific check remains necessary.
- ALOXIDIL authorisation change: product-information updateGazzetta Ufficiale della Repubblica Italiana · Document: 2024-12-14 · Editorial check: 15 October 2026Official Italian notice implementing the PSUSA/00002067/202310 variation. It does not contain the full leaflet.